Grady Memorial Hospital
Inpatient rehabilitation facility · Atlanta, GA · Non-profit
Grady Memorial Hospital is an inpatient rehabilitation facility in Atlanta, Georgia. It reports treating about 37 spinal cord injury patients a year. CMS has not published enough measure data to score this facility, so the numbers below are the ones that are reported.
How the score breaks down
Each CMS measure is converted to a national percentile and direction-normalized so higher is always better. Domain scores are weighted averages of the measures a facility actually reported, so missing data is never scored as worst.
| Domain | Score | Weight |
|---|---|---|
| Function at discharge | 13 / 100 | 30% of the overall score |
| Safety and infection control | 41 / 100 | 35% of the overall score |
| Process measures | 58 / 100 | not weighted |
Based on 8 of 14 measures reported to CMS (limited data, treat the score as approximate).
CMS quality measures
Every measure CMS publishes for this facility, with the national median beside it. Percentile is this facility's standing among all 1221 US inpatient rehabilitation facilities, where 100 is best.
| CMS measure | This facility | National median | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Discharge function score (self-care + mobility) Function at discharge | 39.05% | 61.87% | 14 bottom 14% nationally |
| Discharge self-care score Function at discharge | 36.19% | 60% | 14 bottom 14% nationally |
| Discharge mobility score Function at discharge | 25.71% | 56.51% | 8 bottom 8% nationally |
| Successful return to home/community (risk-standardized) Outcomes after discharge | not reported | 67.56% | n/a |
| Preventable readmission, 30 days after discharge (risk-std) Outcomes after discharge | not reported | 9.16% | n/a |
| Preventable readmission during the stay (risk-std) Outcomes after discharge | not reported | 4.69% | n/a |
| New or worsened pressure ulcers (risk-adjusted) Safety and infection control | 1.4% | 0.64% | 24 bottom 24% nationally |
| Catheter-associated UTI (standardized infection ratio) Safety and infection control | not reported | 0.8ratio | n/a |
| C. difficile infection (standardized infection ratio) Safety and infection control | not reported | 0.17ratio | n/a |
| Falls with major injury Safety and infection control | 0% | 0% | 72 top 28% nationally |
| Staff flu vaccination Other | not reported | 81.03% | n/a |
| Medications reviewed with follow-up Other | 99.14% | 99.44% | 41 bottom 41% nationally |
| Med list given to patient/caregiver Other | 100% | 100% | 72 top 28% nationally |
| Med list given to next care setting Other | 100% | 99.77% | 78 top 22% nationally |
Who this facility treats
Annual patient counts by condition, as reported to CMS. Counts under 11 are suppressed by CMS for privacy and appear as "Less than 11".
| Condition treated | Patients per year |
|---|---|
| Stroke | 127 |
| Brain injury (traumatic) | 47 |
| Hip or knee replacement, amputation or other bone or joint condition | 33 |
| All other conditions | 27 |
| Spinal cord injury (traumatic) | 26 |
| Hip or femur fracture | 20 |
| Brain disease or condition (non-traumatic) | 11 |
| Spinal cord disease or condition (non-traumatic) | 11 |
| Nervous system disorder (excluding stroke) | Less than 11 |
Contact and details
| Address | 80 Jesse Hill, Jr Drive Se, Atlanta, GA, 30303 |
| Phone | (404) 616-4252 |
| CMS provider name | GRADY MEMORIAL HOSPITAL |
| CMS Certification Number | 11T079 |
| Ownership | Non-profit |
Phone numbers in the CMS provider file are sometimes a corporate or billing line rather than the rehab unit. Call and ask for the spinal cord injury program directly.
Three questions to ask this facility
- "How many spinal cord injury patients are on the unit right now?" The CMS figure above is a year old by the time it publishes.
- "What is your protocol for autonomic dysreflexia?" A specialized unit answers instantly. See the AD protocol.
- "Will I leave with the right wheelchair ordered?" Ask whether seating evaluation happens in-house.
The full list, and what the answers should sound like, is in choosing an SCI rehab facility and what to ask before discharge.
Other SCI rehab options in Georgia
- Rehabilitation Hospital of Atlanta, Atlanta · 3 mi
- Emory Rehabilitation Hospital, Atlanta · 5 mi · 46/100
- Emory Decatur Hospital, Decatur · 8 mi · 49/100
- Wellstar Cobb Hospital, Austell · 14 mi · 46/100
- Wellstar Kennestone Inpatient Rehab, Marietta · 15 mi · 54/100
- Wellstar N Fulton Hospital, Roswell · 19 mi · 49/100
See all inpatient rehab facilities in Georgia that treat spinal cord injury →
Where this data comes from
Facility data on this page is from CMS Care Compare — Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility (IRF) QRP, Provider Data Mar 2026, published by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and processed 2026-06-08. CARF Spinal Cord System of Care status is from CARF's public provider directory. SCI Model System designation is from the federally funded SCI Model Systems program. The 100-point score is calculated by SCI.help; the full methodology and the underlying dataset are public.
A quality score is a starting point, not a recommendation. CMS measures cover all rehabilitation patients, not spinal cord injury specifically, and no public dataset captures how good a program is at SCI in particular. Use this to build a shortlist, then call and ask the questions above.
