Laguna Honda Hospital

Inpatient rehabilitation facility · San Francisco, CA · Government

Treats SCI
  • Lower SCI volume
  • CMS certified 03/28/1995
  • CCN 05T668

Laguna Honda Hospital is an inpatient rehabilitation facility in San Francisco, California. It reports treating spinal cord injury patients. CMS has not published enough measure data to score this facility, so the numbers below are the ones that are reported.

💡
Volume matters more than almost anything else in SCI rehab. Compare this facility against the rest of California, and read how to choose an SCI rehab facility.

How the score breaks down

Each CMS measure is converted to a national percentile and direction-normalized so higher is always better. Domain scores are weighted averages of the measures a facility actually reported, so missing data is never scored as worst.

DomainScoreWeight
Process measures43 / 100not weighted

Based on 1 of 14 measures reported to CMS (limited data, treat the score as approximate).


CMS quality measures

Every measure CMS publishes for this facility, with the national median beside it. Percentile is this facility's standing among all 1221 US inpatient rehabilitation facilities, where 100 is best.

CMS measureThis facilityNational medianPercentile
Discharge function score (self-care + mobility)
Function at discharge
not reported61.87%n/a
Discharge self-care score
Function at discharge
not reported60%n/a
Discharge mobility score
Function at discharge
not reported56.51%n/a
Successful return to home/community (risk-standardized)
Outcomes after discharge
not reported67.56%n/a
Preventable readmission, 30 days after discharge (risk-std)
Outcomes after discharge
not reported9.16%n/a
Preventable readmission during the stay (risk-std)
Outcomes after discharge
not reported4.69%n/a
New or worsened pressure ulcers (risk-adjusted)
Safety and infection control
not reported0.64%n/a
Catheter-associated UTI (standardized infection ratio)
Safety and infection control
not reported0.8ration/a
C. difficile infection (standardized infection ratio)
Safety and infection control
not reported0.17ration/a
Falls with major injury
Safety and infection control
not reported0%n/a
Staff flu vaccination
Other
76.92%81.03%43
bottom 43% nationally
Medications reviewed with follow-up
Other
not reported99.44%n/a
Med list given to patient/caregiver
Other
not reported100%n/a
Med list given to next care setting
Other
not reported99.77%n/a

Who this facility treats

Annual patient counts by condition, as reported to CMS. Counts under 11 are suppressed by CMS for privacy and appear as "Less than 11".

Condition treatedPatients per year
StrokeLess than 11
Nervous system disorder (excluding stroke)Not Available
Brain disease or condition (non-traumatic)Not Available
Brain injury (traumatic)Less than 11
Spinal cord disease or condition (non-traumatic)Less than 11
Spinal cord injury (traumatic)Less than 11
Hip or femur fractureNot Available
Hip or knee replacement, amputation or other bone or joint conditionNot Available
All other conditionsNot Available

Contact and details

Address375 Laguna Honda Blvd., San Francisco, CA, 94116
Phone(415) 682-5967
CMS provider nameLAGUNA HONDA HOSPITAL
CMS Certification Number05T668
OwnershipGovernment

Phone numbers in the CMS provider file are sometimes a corporate or billing line rather than the rehab unit. Call and ask for the spinal cord injury program directly.


Three questions to ask this facility

  • "How many spinal cord injury patients are on the unit right now?" The CMS figure above is a year old by the time it publishes.
  • "What is your protocol for autonomic dysreflexia?" A specialized unit answers instantly. See the AD protocol.
  • "Will I leave with the right wheelchair ordered?" Ask whether seating evaluation happens in-house.

The full list, and what the answers should sound like, is in choosing an SCI rehab facility and what to ask before discharge.


Other SCI rehab options in California

See all inpatient rehab facilities in California that treat spinal cord injury →


Where this data comes from

Facility data on this page is from CMS Care Compare — Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility (IRF) QRP, Provider Data Mar 2026, published by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and processed 2026-06-08. CARF Spinal Cord System of Care status is from CARF's public provider directory. SCI Model System designation is from the federally funded SCI Model Systems program. The 100-point score is calculated by SCI.help; the full methodology and the underlying dataset are public.

A quality score is a starting point, not a recommendation. CMS measures cover all rehabilitation patients, not spinal cord injury specifically, and no public dataset captures how good a program is at SCI in particular. Use this to build a shortlist, then call and ask the questions above.