Mercy Regional Medical Center

Inpatient rehabilitation facility · Ville Platte, LA · For profit

Treats SCI
40of 100
SCI.help rehab quality score, ranked #807 of 1104 rated facilities. CMS quality measures (75%) blended with SCI patient volume (25%), plus flat bonuses for CARF Spinal Cord accreditation and SCI Model System designation.
  • 12 SCI patients/yr
  • Lower SCI volume
  • CMS certified 10/01/2009
  • CCN 19T167

Mercy Regional Medical Center is an inpatient rehabilitation facility in Ville Platte, Louisiana. It reports treating about 12 spinal cord injury patients a year, and scores 40 out of 100 on the SCI.help rehab quality score, ranking #807 of the 1104 US inpatient rehabilitation facilities CMS publishes enough data to rate.

💡
Volume matters more than almost anything else in SCI rehab. Compare this facility against the rest of Louisiana, and read how to choose an SCI rehab facility.

How the score breaks down

Each CMS measure is converted to a national percentile and direction-normalized so higher is always better. Domain scores are weighted averages of the measures a facility actually reported, so missing data is never scored as worst.

DomainScoreWeight
Function at discharge44 / 10030% of the overall score
Outcomes after discharge23 / 10035% of the overall score
Safety and infection control68 / 10035% of the overall score
Process measures70 / 100not weighted

Volume and SCI specialization are then folded in, because CMS measures cover all rehabilitation patients rather than spinal cord injury specifically:

StepValueWeight
CMS quality composite45.2 / 10075% of the blend
SCI patient volume, as a national percentile26 / 10025% of the blend
Blended40 / 100
Overall40 / 100capped at 100

Based on 12 of 14 measures reported to CMS.


CMS quality measures

Every measure CMS publishes for this facility, with the national median beside it. Percentile is this facility's standing among all 1221 US inpatient rehabilitation facilities, where 100 is best.

CMS measureThis facilityNational medianPercentile
Discharge function score (self-care + mobility)
Function at discharge
63.91%61.87%52
top 48% nationally
Discharge self-care score
Function at discharge
54.14%60%40
bottom 40% nationally
Discharge mobility score
Function at discharge
46.62%56.51%33
bottom 33% nationally
Successful return to home/community (risk-standardized)
Outcomes after discharge · Worse than the National Rate
60.68%67.56%9
bottom 9% nationally
Preventable readmission, 30 days after discharge (risk-std)
Outcomes after discharge · No Different than the National Rate
9.34%9.16%42
bottom 42% nationally
Preventable readmission during the stay (risk-std)
Outcomes after discharge · No Different than the National Rate
5.2%4.69%27
bottom 27% nationally
New or worsened pressure ulcers (risk-adjusted)
Safety and infection control
0%0.64%92
top 8% nationally
Catheter-associated UTI (standardized infection ratio)
Safety and infection control
not reported0.8ration/a
C. difficile infection (standardized infection ratio)
Safety and infection control · No Different than the National Benchmark
0.96ratio0.17ratio8
bottom 8% nationally
Falls with major injury
Safety and infection control
0%0%72
top 28% nationally
Staff flu vaccination
Other
61.64%81.03%23
bottom 23% nationally
Medications reviewed with follow-up
Other
100%99.44%89
top 11% nationally
Med list given to patient/caregiver
Other
not reported100%n/a
Med list given to next care setting
Other
100%99.77%78
top 22% nationally

Who this facility treats

Annual patient counts by condition, as reported to CMS. Counts under 11 are suppressed by CMS for privacy and appear as "Less than 11".

Condition treatedPatients per year
All other conditions45
Stroke34
Hip or femur fracture27
Hip or knee replacement, amputation or other bone or joint condition21
Nervous system disorder (excluding stroke)19
Spinal cord disease or condition (non-traumatic)12
Brain disease or condition (non-traumatic)Less than 11
Brain injury (traumatic)Less than 11
Spinal cord injury (traumatic)Not Available

Contact and details

Address800 E Main St., Ville Platte, LA, 70586
Phone(337) 360-9714
CMS provider nameMERCY REGIONAL MEDICAL CENTER
CMS Certification Number19T167
OwnershipFor profit

Phone numbers in the CMS provider file are sometimes a corporate or billing line rather than the rehab unit. Call and ask for the spinal cord injury program directly.


Three questions to ask this facility

  • "How many spinal cord injury patients are on the unit right now?" The CMS figure above is a year old by the time it publishes.
  • "What is your protocol for autonomic dysreflexia?" A specialized unit answers instantly. See the AD protocol.
  • "Will I leave with the right wheelchair ordered?" Ask whether seating evaluation happens in-house.

The full list, and what the answers should sound like, is in choosing an SCI rehab facility and what to ask before discharge.


Other SCI rehab options in Louisiana

See all inpatient rehab facilities in Louisiana that treat spinal cord injury →


Where this data comes from

Facility data on this page is from CMS Care Compare — Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility (IRF) QRP, Provider Data Mar 2026, published by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and processed 2026-06-08. CARF Spinal Cord System of Care status is from CARF's public provider directory. SCI Model System designation is from the federally funded SCI Model Systems program. The 100-point score is calculated by SCI.help; the full methodology and the underlying dataset are public.

A quality score is a starting point, not a recommendation. CMS measures cover all rehabilitation patients, not spinal cord injury specifically, and no public dataset captures how good a program is at SCI in particular. Use this to build a shortlist, then call and ask the questions above.