Peak Rehabilitation Hospital
Inpatient rehabilitation facility · Apex, NC · For profit
Peak Rehabilitation Hospital is an inpatient rehabilitation facility in Apex, North Carolina. It reports treating spinal cord injury patients. CMS has not published enough measure data to score this facility, so the numbers below are the ones that are reported.
CMS quality measures
Every measure CMS publishes for this facility, with the national median beside it. Percentile is this facility's standing among all 1221 US inpatient rehabilitation facilities, where 100 is best.
| CMS measure | This facility | National median | Percentile |
|---|---|---|---|
| Discharge function score (self-care + mobility) Function at discharge | not reported | 61.87% | n/a |
| Discharge self-care score Function at discharge | not reported | 60% | n/a |
| Discharge mobility score Function at discharge | not reported | 56.51% | n/a |
| Successful return to home/community (risk-standardized) Outcomes after discharge | not reported | 67.56% | n/a |
| Preventable readmission, 30 days after discharge (risk-std) Outcomes after discharge | not reported | 9.16% | n/a |
| Preventable readmission during the stay (risk-std) Outcomes after discharge | not reported | 4.69% | n/a |
| New or worsened pressure ulcers (risk-adjusted) Safety and infection control | not reported | 0.64% | n/a |
| Catheter-associated UTI (standardized infection ratio) Safety and infection control | not reported | 0.8ratio | n/a |
| C. difficile infection (standardized infection ratio) Safety and infection control | not reported | 0.17ratio | n/a |
| Falls with major injury Safety and infection control | not reported | 0% | n/a |
| Staff flu vaccination Other | not reported | 81.03% | n/a |
| Medications reviewed with follow-up Other | not reported | 99.44% | n/a |
| Med list given to patient/caregiver Other | not reported | 100% | n/a |
| Med list given to next care setting Other | not reported | 99.77% | n/a |
Who this facility treats
Annual patient counts by condition, as reported to CMS. Counts under 11 are suppressed by CMS for privacy and appear as "Less than 11".
| Condition treated | Patients per year |
|---|---|
| Hip or knee replacement, amputation or other bone or joint condition | 29 |
| All other conditions | 27 |
| Hip or femur fracture | 16 |
| Stroke | 13 |
| Nervous system disorder (excluding stroke) | Less than 11 |
| Brain disease or condition (non-traumatic) | Less than 11 |
| Brain injury (traumatic) | Less than 11 |
| Spinal cord disease or condition (non-traumatic) | Less than 11 |
| Spinal cord injury (traumatic) | Not Available |
Contact and details
| Address | 1401 Zeno Road, Apex, NC, 27502 |
| Phone | (615) 850-8633 |
| CMS provider name | PEAK REHABILITATION HOSPITAL |
| CMS Certification Number | 343028 |
| Ownership | For profit |
Phone numbers in the CMS provider file are sometimes a corporate or billing line rather than the rehab unit. Call and ask for the spinal cord injury program directly.
Three questions to ask this facility
- "How many spinal cord injury patients are on the unit right now?" The CMS figure above is a year old by the time it publishes.
- "What is your protocol for autonomic dysreflexia?" A specialized unit answers instantly. See the AD protocol.
- "Will I leave with the right wheelchair ordered?" Ask whether seating evaluation happens in-house.
The full list, and what the answers should sound like, is in choosing an SCI rehab facility and what to ask before discharge.
Other SCI rehab options in North Carolina
- UNC Hospitals Inpatient Rehab, Chapel Hill · 19 mi · 55/100
- Wakemed Rehab, Raleigh · 22 mi · 72/100
- Durham Regional Hospital, Durham · 23 mi · 61/100
- Cape Fear Valley Rehabilitation Center, Fayetteville · 46 mi · 47/100
- Firsthealth Moore Regional Hospital, Pinehurst · 47 mi · 55/100
- Maria Parham Healthcare Association Inc, Henderson · 51 mi · 44/100
See all inpatient rehab facilities in North Carolina that treat spinal cord injury →
Where this data comes from
Facility data on this page is from CMS Care Compare — Inpatient Rehabilitation Facility (IRF) QRP, Provider Data Mar 2026, published by the Centers for Medicare & Medicaid Services and processed 2026-06-08. CARF Spinal Cord System of Care status is from CARF's public provider directory. SCI Model System designation is from the federally funded SCI Model Systems program. The 100-point score is calculated by SCI.help; the full methodology and the underlying dataset are public.
A quality score is a starting point, not a recommendation. CMS measures cover all rehabilitation patients, not spinal cord injury specifically, and no public dataset captures how good a program is at SCI in particular. Use this to build a shortlist, then call and ask the questions above.
